(new) Should i buy old skyrim or special edition for mods ?

HolyLamb

Hello !

i am new to skyrim and modding in general. i bought the original skyrim on steam via a steam key and now want to get into modding but i am wondering if i should buy the dlc for original skyrim (which does not show up on steam search, curse you betheshda !!) or should i buy the special edition one ?

to be honest i just want to have all the glorious mods, if you know what i mean...( Í¡° ÍÊ Í¡°) I will be really thankful for your insight...

Hello !

i am new to skyrim and modding in general. i bought the original skyrim on steam via a steam key and now want to get into modding but i am wondering if i should buy the dlc for original skyrim (which does not show up on steam search, curse you betheshda !!) or should i buy the special edition one ?

to be honest i just want to have all the glorious mods, if you know what i mean...( Í¡° ÍÊ Í¡°) I will be really thankful for your insight...

For now (but probably not for much longer) you have a larger set of options for mods on Oldrim than you do on SE. Also, SE is much easier to make stable for adding mods than LE (it can take some work f you want to add a LOT of mods). So, from what you've said, you probably want to just bite the bullet and get SE (and this is from someone who uses Oldrim preferentially).

Hmm...didn't the legendary edition of oldrim had all dlc?

Anyways, I'll suggest SE, since it's more stable. Frankly, I don't play SE, since a few of the mods (race/compatibility, etc, etc) that are completely indispensable for my playthroughs aren't converted yet to the new one, not sure if they ever will. I do suggest SE since the instability/maintanence of oldrim can get grating. However, If you don't mind that and want a bigger library of mods, then try the old one.

IMO SE is better for stability and should be the default. But I'm going to make it complicated.