Making my first mod in ck. Need someone to point me in the right direction

Back in April I started plans for a Railroad Overhaul. The first part I'm currently on is attempting to add more combat ranks and outfits to just give them a fresh coat of paint. Something to make them visually more interesting. I've gotten permission from two dozen mod authors around the Nexus to use their assets in my mod.

I started learning how to replace textures, materials, learning how to work parts in nifskope, etc. Honestly it was a lot of fun doing so.

When it came time to actually implement these things into the game is where I started having issues. Here was my process.

I had all mod assets in the game's data folder on my SSD.

Downloaded MO2 and created a portable instance titled RR Project and also had copies of all the assets in that instance mods folder.

Downloaded CK and installed it into the game's data folder.

Work on the mod via the CK in data.

After saving a new version of my mod, I'd copy the project's esp and paste it in a mod folder for MO2.

Run the game to see if the changes were made to my liking.

Repeat.

For a while this worked, but I couldn't help but wonder if I had been over complicating it.
Does my project need to have its assets in two different places?
Do they need to be in the game's data folder?
Can I not activate CK in MO2 and work on the project properly from there?
Asking around on discord servers got me a different answer every time.

I guess my question ultimately is If I'm making a mod using other peoples assets, where should I put them? How do I properly create a space to work on this project without bloating my Fallout Game Folder? Is that even possible?

I personally always start the CK from MO2.

I made an "empty mod" in MO2.

That will just create and empty folder in the "mods" folder of MO2.