Hello. New to The forums and Modding in general.

CapNKirkland

hi. so i recently got myself the ES Anthology which has every ES game and DLC in existance. but i've already played them all at one point or another. so i wanted to make a fresh experience with the games in modding before i even press play.

im starting off with oblivion for the nostalgic feels but, like in the topic. im new to modding.

where and how do i step my foot in the door?

for OBLIVION, i honestly want to keep it as vanilla as possible. (no added weapons, animations, nude NPC's and the like) so i only want environmental and character model improvements.

For Skyrim (in the future) ill want to improve the visuals and maybe put some lulz into the mix. but not before i get a handle on proper modding.

my rig is: (not even sure if this information is relevant to the topic)

Windows 7 Home Premium

Intel® I7-3770k CPU @ 3.50GHx 3.90 GHz

16.0GB RAM

64-Bit

NIVIDIA GTX670

i guess all i'm asking for is some recommendations on good looking/working mods and some helpful warnings from the more experienced community.

thanks.

This question gets asked so often that I have a standard copy/paste response:

Everyone has their individual preferences so it's hard to recommend particular mods without knowing what you like.

I'd start with the Unofficial Patches as they fix a lot of bugs and annoyances that Bethesda had missed.

You'll need to have some way of sorting your load order:And to manually adjust the load order (pick one or more)...
  • Nexus Mod Manager is the newest and allows automatic installation straight from Nexus. While this feature is handy, it is less reliable than manual installation.
  • Oblivion mod manager is not as powerful as Wrye Bash (below), but is easier to use. It supports OMODs, a packaging method used by some mod authors.
  • Wrye Bash is probably the most powerful load order manager and seems to be recommended by the most mod Authors.