A few questions about Vortex

HolyDevastate
Go to solution Solved by Tannin42,

Hi all, i'm new to vortex and modding in general. I have been using vortex for about a month or more now and i could understand the basic steps. However, there are a few things i don't have a clue what it does and how to use them in vortex. I tried search online and looked in the vortex wiki (https://modding.wiki/en/vortex) but couldn't find what i want to know. Therefore, i made this post here in hope someone could enlighten me. Please ignore any gramar errors i made as i'm not a native english speaker. Here are my questions:
vortexquestion.png

1. What is the "Install Optional Mods" option. What does it do, i think i have never seen it clickable.
  2. What is the different between "Remove related" and "Remove". I guess it has something to do with mods dependancy, but i tried to remove related with SkyUI (a lot of mods has it as hard requirement on nexus) and nothing show up except SkyUi itself in options.
  3. What is the "Install Recommendations" option. Some mods i installed would have this option clickable but when i click it, nothing seem to happen(not thing i can see with the vortex UI atleast) and if i uninstall that mod then this option also grey out?
  4. The "Variant" section state that i can have the same mod with different settings made. How can i do that? I know i can have different version of the same mod and toggle between them but the same version with different settings? Is that what this Variant mean?