Modding and Legality

Site Bot

Article link: Modding and Legality

Modding and Legality.

By Facistinabag

Lately, I’ve noticed that a significant amount of Nexus users either don’t understand the legality of certain modding, or have a confused or incorrect idea of what it is. I intend this article to be a small guideline for modders and mod users out there.

Table of Contents:

1. Introduction

2. Incorrect Concepts

3. What you can do

4. How not to get sued

5. The Nexus

Part One: Introduction

First, I’m no lawyer. I’m going to put this right out in the open. However, I understand what exactly is illegal, and what isn’t. I may be incorrect in a few areas, so feel free to correct me.

All right, let’s look at what modding is.

Refrence.com defines modding as:

“Modding is a slang expression that is derived from the verb "modify". The term can refer to the act of modifying a piece of hardware or software to perform a function not originally conceived or intended by the designer. The term modding is often used within the Open Source software movement and within the computer game community, particularly in regard to creating new or altered content and sharing that via the web.”

This definition is pretty much spot on. In this case, we’re talking about Bethesda’s Fallout 3, and Oblivion games.

Another major definition courtesy of Refrence.com:

“In computer science, porting is the process of adapting software so that an executable program can be created for a computing environment that is different from the one for which it was originally designed (e.g. different CPU, operating system, or third party library). The term is also used in a general way to refer to the changing of software/hardware to make them usable in different environments.”

In modding terms, porting is taking elements from one game, and putting them into another.

Part Two: Incorrect Concepts