No, but for real though, how do I use Archive Invalidation?

I have no idea how Archive Invalidation / BSA Redirection works. Apparently it is used to overwrite old files with new ones and is especially important for texture mods, but the only thing I see regarding how to use it is "turn it off and then back on again."

Okay, when? Do I turn off AI, enable a new mod, and then re-enable AI? Do I install and enable the new texture mod, and then turn-off/turn-on AI? Do I deploy mods after every disable/enable step or do I flip the switch back and forth before deploying all changes?

I'm a modding newbie and I have no idea how any of this works. Walk me through it mouse-click by mouse-click like I'm an idiot.

And I quote

Vortex has archive invalidation — just go to tools and it should be listed on there (I think the exact words are BSA invalidation). Just enable it and a new mod will appear on your mod list called ArchiceInvalidation.

in vortex go to setting, second to last tab is called workarounds. under that tab there should be a toggle for bsa redirection.

After you active that toggle you will have a new mod with the same name in your mod list. Deactivate it and the reactivate it. It just cleans up some files the game and the mods need. At least that's my understanding of it

---

I will note that being newbie, which is what I label myself sometimes, Vortex is the worst you can pick. Only veterans can mess with it.

If you call yourself a newbie, stay the eff away from it. Choose MO2.

Edited by laclongquan
  • Sad 1

1 hour ago, laclongquan said:

And I quote

Vortex has archive invalidation — just go to tools and it should be listed on there (I think the exact words are BSA invalidation). Just enable it and a new mod will appear on your mod list called ArchiceInvalidation.

in vortex go to setting, second to last tab is called workarounds. under that tab there should be a toggle for bsa redirection.