I'm new to Oblivion and would like some mods advice.

ShadowDragon8685

Here's the gist:

I've bought Oblivion recently as I was given a gift card to Amazon and installed it. However, I have been led to understand by years of laughing at reviews of Oblivion that the base installation is frankly crap - something like 3,000 poly rocks and stuff, and how the game was basically unplayable on even gaming PCs without heavy modding.

And it's been out for many years now. Like Neverwinter Nights, this leads me to believe there must be some good mods. So, what are the generally reccomended mods?

What are the mods that, in order of importance, would be reccomended for the following purposes:

1: Make the game playable on a machine between the minimum and reccomended system requirements?

2: Eliminate auto-leveling enemies. I want to gather power, vastly overpower my foes, drive them before them and hear no lamentations of their women because I'm so awesome their women dropped them like a bad habit to flock to Camp Me. (Or possibly get my arse served to me with a flourish on a gilded silver platter because I got in over my head.)

3: Nudity. Why the heck not, I'm the kind of person who'll patch WoW for that, and I've already seen mention of a few mods that look awesome for that.

4: Expanding game features.

I'm using the Game of the Year edition from Amazon, on PC-DVD, with Knights of the Nine/Shivering Isles installed. I tried to download an official patch but it didn't work, citing a "file of the same name but not the expected file" error. Are there any official patches I need? What's this Unofficial Patch business, I presume I need it?

You have made a wise purchase. And you're right. This game is severely limited in scope unmodded. Monsters and Items that level with you, badly done music system (but great music), guards that know way too much for medieval times. If you've been laughing at online reviews, you know the score.