Keeping your fancy computers safe.

I'm sorry if there is another topic like this. I have not been able to find any though.

Also any software i mention in this topic i am not advertising but only giving feedback based on my experience with them.

Keeping your computer and your files safe from the internet

Why should you read this?

Because I am a computer engineer and i have been for 3 years, in my time i have fixed many computers and removed many of Trojans, Malware, Spybots and general viruses.

To start off with no computer is truly safe. (sorry)

There are viruses pored into the internet everyday which have never been discovered before and so non treatable. However Anti virus software tend to update their definition daily to help reduce infection.

First thing you should do.

Check to see if you Operating system is up to date.

I'll use windows as an example as most people run it.

If you are on Windows 7, click the Windows Button-All Programs then find Windows Update

If Windows 8, press the windows button and type "Windows Update" and you should find it.

After fully confirming you operating is updated (After 1 update reboot and look again and continue until no updates are available)

You should now check your fire wall.

Checking your firewall sounds complicated, but it really isn't. On windows, goto Control Panel an type "Firewall". If it says it is ON or CONNECTED your fine, if not make sure it is, and... there you go. DONE. Make sure that you share some of your folders on the home network, if you don't really need your files to be visible, disable file and media sharing completely

Now is you do not know which one to choose i can help.

Firstly, and obviously, Free antivirus software's are not going to protect you that well.

However it is better than nothing.

I use AVAST Anti virus program and i have never got any infections, plus it updates usually every day.

However there are some other good softwares such as Kaspersky and Sophos.