Tales of an Unfortunate Modder - *I have no idea what I'm doing meme*

Liara7LF

Hello everyone,

First of all, I would like to say that I am aware that there are many tutorials and threads that most likely relate to what I am about to ask however, I have no idea what my problem actually is (because I'm completely new to modding) so, I don't know what to look for to get the answers I need.

What I am trying to do:

Create a new book for Skyrim that uses the mesh from DanielCoffey and doccdr's Book Covers Skyrim and an edited version of one of the cover textures from the same mod.

What I did:

- First of all I downloaded the modders resources for book covers and meshes provided by DanielCoffey.

- I then extracted the zip folders to a folder on my desktop that contains files for the mod I am working on.

- I opened one of the psd files in paint.net and edited it.

- Saved the file as a dds (dxt1 though I'm not sure what other options need to be checked) in my mod work folder.

- Open nifskope and load the standard book mesh (from DanielCoffey)

- Open 34 BSSTextureSet,click the drop down menu at the bottom and change textures\clutter\books\BBM_BookTemplate.dds to the location of my edited .dds file

- Change the file name and save the .nif in my mod work folder

- Copy and paste the .nif to skyrim folder\data\meshes\clutter\books

- Open CK, find an existing book, change world art to my .nif and get the following.

The Errors;

Texture Set missing texture - my texture (location of dds in working mod folder)

Texture Set missing texture - textures\clutter\books\BBM_BookTemplate_n.dds (This is the file default in Nifskope.. I know this should be the normal map but I don't know what this is or how to edit it or anything)

BASE - (location of my .nif in skyrim data folder): Cover is missing a diffuse map. (A what?)

BASE - (location of my .nif in skyrim data folder): Cover is missing a normal map. (Why?)

The Result: