Correct DDS Texture Compression/Format?

SkullKnight

Hi, I recently downloaded Gimp and a dds editing plugin for manipulating FO3 texture files, but it turned out to be a lot more complicated than I thought. When I finished my editing and wanted to save, I was confronted with a huge list of options regarding the dds file's format and compression. I tried using the default settings, but that resulted in a file many times larger than the original. Most of the compression options resulted in a file with the correct size, but the color got all messed up. Finally, I found that BC3/DTX5 (BC3n/DTX5n seems to be the normal map equivalent?) using the default format and no mipmaps gave me a file with correct size and color.

What compression and format should be used for FO3 dds textures? Also, should mipmaps be generated? FO3's normal maps, but not textures, look like they have mipmaps generated (based solely on file size :P).

Sorry, Im a noob with graphics editing lol.

For diffuse(color) maps, DXT1 no alpha is perfectly adequate.

For diffuse maps with the need of alpha transparency maps. DXT5 is more or less ideal

For compressed normal maps that will need to contain a specular map in the alpha channel, DXT5 again. if you are not going to use a specular map, and just use a global specular level via the material on the mesh, DXT1 no alpha

If for any reason you much prefer uncompressed normal maps... I personally use RGB 888 or RGBA 8888 at a half resolution, or if its a small or unimportant texture i will still compress

Why? because normal maps suffer greatly from artifacting. And F3 does not support 3DC or DXT NM formats.

an outdated but still relevant experiment i made.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c85/lego-botz/other/Normalmapping3.jpg

diffuse map is identical. only changed the normal map compression and size.

mipmaps. I have been under the impression that fallout3 needs at least 4 mipmap levels. 6-8 if not all.