Splitting Armor Sets via NifSkope & Blender

kayinv

I've been trying to learn how to do this because of all the single-piece armors that drive me absolutely crazy. I like to mix sets up, it's fun, but a lot of the best armors are single pieces and therefore are of no use to me. :( I've read some of the basic tutorials for NifSkope and the one for Blender that I found on this forum through a Google search. Basically I've learned what to install and how to import the NIF files, but I have no idea how to actually manipulate them. The tutorials pretty much just say "remove skeleton and pieces you want to remove" and don't tell me how to do it. I have managed to split Hentai's Void armor into the chest piece by deleting block branches, but the game still sees it as a whole set piece and the character just has invisible body parts.

I don't need a tutorial for someone who already knows Blender. That's good for them, but I need help with every single step because my background is strictly 2D graphic design and I have no knowledge of 3D software. Am I really going to have to spend a ton of time learning Blender just to split these silly armors up? Or is there more detailed tutorials for beginners that I'm not aware of?

You actually don't need blender if you can remove the pieces in Nifiscope. However Your problem is that you must edit the .esp with the CS, create new clothing/armor with the new nif file you made. You will notice when you do this there is a list on that menu (in the CS) where you choose what slots the armor takes up. So when you remove say the legs from a set of armor, in the CS you must unclick legs (I think its called lowerbody don't remember) and foot. Hope this is clear enough.

This is a tutorial that is just about what you wanted