A Beginner's Question about OBSE

Fereed

I am very new to modding and have just downloaded OBSE so I can run the Oblivion Character Overhaul version 2. After many hours of youtube videos, reading instructions on this site and troubleshooting I got everything installed.

The only problem is that when I try to open the start-up menu (the one that comes up in the vanilla game after clicking the oblivion launcher and allows you to access the Data Files to enable the mods) with the obse loader, it never comes up, it just launches straight into the game.

I've read that for the OBSE to work, you have to launch Oblivion with the obse loader, not the vanilla Oblivion launcher. But when I try to launch Oblivion with the obse loader, as I mentioned earlier, the menu never comes up that allows me to access the Data Files.

This might be a newbie question, but how can I access the Data Files while using mods that require OBSE?

Thanks!

I used to use the vanilla launcher to access Data Files for activating/deactivating mods and then the OBSE launcher for playing the game (I've since moved on to Wrye Bash and use it for activating/deactivating mods).

You can either create two desktop shortcuts, one starting the vanilla launcher via OblivionLauncher.exe and one starting the game via obse_loader.exe or just have the single desktop shortcut that uses obse_loader.exe and then from your Windows Start button launch the vanilla launcher. The key thing to remember is you can't start the vanilla game launcher to access Data Files and then click Play. I used the Windows Start button system myself because of the extra steps it took to get to the vanilla launcher, making it less likely I'd have a brain cramp and try to start the game from the Data Files launcher.