My Horrible Interaction with Steam Support

DoctorL

For those of you that don't know me, I've been a Fallout 3 mod author off and on since shortly after its release.

My computer was compromised last Saturday via a remote desktop app known as Teamviewer. I had been using it for years, but someone hacked in to my online account somehow. I am a computer science major that focused in security. I left a hole in my security, but blaming me for this offense would be akin to blaming a home owner who had a front door with a window in it that a burglar smashed in. I never installed any suspicious programs, gave out my passwords, I use 2 factor authentication where possible excluding the one place where I really should have: PayPal because I hadn't used it in half a decade. I hope I'm conveying the precautions I've taken.

They remotely connected to my desktop computer from Bulgaria, then made $4,500 in fraudulent purchases using my PayPal account.

To add insult to injury, they accessed my Steam account and traded all of my collected cards and a few extra copies of games I had. Their value was minuscule compared to what I could have lost, but it's the principle.

Steam refuses to get these items returned to me. The attached image is the long version. Had my bank and PayPal taken this attitude, my wife and I would be $4,500 in the hole.

That's Steam's official policy. If you get hacked, sucks to be you.

http://i60.tinypic.com/15zl17n.jpg

http://i61.tinypic.com/344ut94.jpg

Edited by DoctorL

This is certainly nothing new with Valve's (lack of) customer service. They've always been horrible.

<snip>

That's Steam's official policy. If you get hacked, sucks to be you.

Yes, that's always been their position. And, to a certain extent, I understand it. No un/pw system is immune to a brute-force attack. And when the first half of the credential is made public, the hack is reduced to needing to guess a mere 96 bits (or fewer) on average.