Oblivion Mods Newbie

I am a newbie at mods... I want to use them. don't know how. Someone told me to download a mod manager, but I don't know how to use it. I have the Oblivion Mod Manager and I really want to add mods to my Elder Scroll game. I have no clue on how you use the manager to place mods into the game. So, until someone helps me... I'm stuck without mods. Could someone please help me with this! Thank you!

First of all, before you go any further, if you are running Windows 7 or Vista, uninstall Oblivion completely and then reinstall it outside of the default 'Program Files' folder structure. Somewhere like C:\Games\Oblivion. If you don't do this, Windows will continue to plague your modding experience with it's wonderful (cough) way of ghosting things that you THINK are going into the Program Files folder.

Once you have done that, and have installed Oblivion Mod Manager, you need to understand what OBMM does. It uses it's own archiving system for mods, much like .zip files but they are called .OMOD files. You can download OMOD files that have been created by the author, or OMOD ready files. Some (but not all) .zip/.7z archive can be successfully created into OMOD files by using the 'Create' button in OBMM.

Ok, let's step back for a second. When you download an OMOD make sure that OBMM is closed and then place the OMOD into your \Oblivion\obmm\mods\ folder. When you run OBMM your new mod will be there in the right-hand window, coloured either green, orange (I think), red, black or blue. Green means not installed and no conflict. Orange means not installed and minor conflict. Red means not installed and more troublesome conflict. Black means not installed and major conflict. Blue means successfully installed.

To install a mod, you simply double click on a green mod. Any other colour should be reviewed before installing.

That should get you going, but for more information press the 'Help' button.