Scripted Spells

kingtitan

Is it possible to write a scripted spell that when cast on an NPC can force them to sit down on a specific reference (chair,stool, ect.)? Or along the same lines, a similar scripted spell that forces an NPC to use a bed or bedroll? If so, I assume it would somehow need to be able to select the reference within the interior cell, but I certainly don't know that for sure! Thanks for the help! Edited by kingtitan

In my own experience populating the player owned homes with NPCs I've found that for them to use beds and chairs they need to be marked persistent in the CS. I haven't seen any slowdowns from doing that, but keep in mind I'm only changing a few items in each cell. If you were doing a vast cathedral or barracks for an army that might make a difference.

You probably don't need to worry about the bloat in this case. It is not likely to cause noticeable lag.

I have one character I have been playing off and on for more than two years. I checked, and his save games are 6/10ths of the way to unacceptable bloat where problems could be expected. Skyrim will have been out for a year or two before these savegames reach a crisis.

The one thing you don't want to do is have a summoning spell that you use all the time that uses the PlaceAtMe command. That can cause measurable bloat and eventually make it so a savegame becomes unusable and the character has to be abandoned.

Ok well if that is the case I can just mark them as persistent in my mods that I am using. The most annoying thing though is when you are using the CM partners mod, you tell your companion to go eat/sleep, ect. and the companion tries to find the furthest away bed or chair... That's what I would like to fix in the end. But is it even possible to script a spell that would tell them to go to a certain chair or bed or does that use the placeatme command?

Instead of using PlaceAtMe, you can use MoveTo. That would slow, if not prevent, any bloat.