( Video Tutorial) How to Get Custom Weapons Into Skyrim!

somuchmonsters

So hey guys! I'm Joe. I'm actually an artist at Arena.Net who got excited about making fun stuff for Skyrim. There was only one problem. The toolkit is not out yet and even though it's possible to get things to work, the information was very scattered. So here. A video of all the important steps of getting a new weapon into the game. I'll follow up with more videos of similar nature. Let me know what you think!

Second video to show the setup of blood effect meshes is up now! Hachaca.

Third video explaining how to get a new armor asset into game. Aka a model with skin weights on it. First part of 2. High five!

Fourth video on getting the new armor into game WITH weight sliders intact.

I cannot actually link new youtube files because of some media limit. SAD. The embed won't work, but the video is at the link.

Edited by somuchmonsters

• Replies 142
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I gave it a flick over. gets seal of approval. :thumbsup:

One thing you might need to mention is that pretty much for ever, the niftools max plugin has issues with exporting correct tangent space values, you can get slightly skewed results.. It's almost reflex to update anything exported from max in nifskope, spells>batch> update tangent space. It's quite minor, especially recently as I haven't really had much of an issue with my binormals and tangents, but every now and again you can get something dodgy.

A lot of the options in the export dialog won't do anything if you leave them on or off in most situations, the flatten hierarchy is mostly for skinned meshes, when you have the skeleton you rigged to in the scene. You want that flat. there is some odd behaviour like having anything under skin ticked will be like having zero transforms ticked..

I'm linking it in one of the more used topics so it doesn't disappear down the forum and people can find it easier.

Edited by Ghogiel