Armoured Robes - help needed!

Aliceface

Hi! As someone who has always played battlemage type characters I was quite conflicted when playing Skyrim. I did not know whether to wear robes or armour - the robes are stylish and magelike, but the armour is much better and I can put therobe enchantments on the armour anyway. I really felt like I needed some sort of middle ground.

...An armoured robe, perhaps?

Heavy armour is nifty and practical, but no self respecting mage should ever go without a robe. Thus I started designing robe versions of all the armours, both light and heavy.

The problem here is - I am an illustration student hoping to become a concept artist, so I can design them just fine. I have, however, very limited knowledge and skill of 3d modeling - about one semester of Maya lessons at university and a bit of messing around in Nifskope is pretty much it. I decided to start anyway, though, thinking I could learn as I go along.

So, um, I've more or less (need to fix the shoulders) finished the first model, the Dragonbone Robe... This is it:

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r28/Aitze/Dragonrobe.png

I am quite content with the design - simple as it is, just repositioning, I find it works - but I am unable to get it working ingame. Either wearing it turns my character's torso and legs invisible, or the game crashes entirely when I equip it.

I figure it is some sort of problem with the NifSkope Data, but I don't know much about that and how it works - even after spending a couple days looking stuff up and tutorials, it is just so confusing.

This is a screenshot of the data in NifSkope, which I have been trying to get to work by copying and pasting from the basic Dragonbone armour:

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r28/Aitze/Nifskopedata.png