3D SSD & Mod Creation

I have a 1T WD Velociraptor and since its just over half full, it's time to add to it or upgrade. I haven't considered an SSD because of the limits on the writes/erases--something that I do quite a lot of as a mod author. However, I frequently check what is going on in the SSD market, and I see now that WD and SanDisk are coming out with 64 layer 3D SSDs that perhaps seem to offer greater leeway for the write/over-write/erasing issue applicable to solid state drives.

I'm by no means an expert on this topic and would appreciate anyone's insight in to this and perhaps some modder input on use of this drive for mod creation (good or bad idea?) or alternatives.

I've also thought of getting the 3D ssd for my os and also setting up a separate steam directory for games that will not be mod projects. I could then use the VRaptor as the sole mod creation drive with the CK. I have 2 WD ultra passports for mod backup.

Edited by NexBeth

SSD tech has come a long way since their inception. Read/write cycles are a lot less of an issue now, to the point, that I have two SSD's in my machine, and no mechanical hdd at all.

Thanks for input, HeyYou. Do you work on your mods on the SSD? I do a lot of writing and erasing to the Data folder, Meshes/Textures, etc. I supposed I could just continue to use my VRaptor exclusively to work with modding work and CK, and the SSD for OS and gaming.

I haven't been doing a lot of modding lately. :) But, I shuffle files on my machine on a daily basis.... just downloading, installing, shuffling load orders, etc..... All of my games are installed on an SSD separate from the one the OS is on. Been like that for a year now, and not a single issue.