ℹ️ Intermittent Download History issues ×

[LE] Help with a simple issue compiling a script

SamHe11

I'm new to papyrus scripting and am having some trouble transitioning from Oblivion script, which I was pretty good at years ago. I've spent a couple nights going over the beginner scripting tutorials on the CS website. I've tried applying what I've learned from them to create a script that forces a third person camera when the player's weapon is drawn, and then forces a first person camera when sheathed. Pretty simple. The script is attached to a quest that auto starts when the game loads. But what I have so far isn't compiling. I'm getting a couple of errors that have me stumped. Here's what it looks like:

Scriptname shCameraScript extends Actor 
{Script for forcing the camera in or out depending on if the player has a weapon drawn.}

bool WeaponOut = player.isweapondrawn()

Function ForceFirstPerson() global

if WeaponOut == true
    game.forcethirdperson()
  elseif WeaponOut == false
    game.forcefirstperson()
endif

endFunction

And the compiler output says this:

Starting 1 compile threads for 1 files...
Compiling "shCameraScript"...
C:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\temp\shCameraScript.psc(4,17): no viable alternative at input 'player'
C:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\temp\shCameraScript.psc(4,23): required (...)+ loop did not match anything at input '.'
C:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\Data\Scripts\Source\temp\shCameraScript.psc(4,5): Unknown user flag player
No output generated for shCameraScript, compilation failed.

Batch compile of 1 files finished. 0 succeeded, 1 failed.
Failed on shCameraScript

Not really sure what to do at this point.

There's at least two errors here:

1. When declaring a variable value outside of a function or event, it must be a literal: A specific string, integer, float, etc.