baking shadows into texture tutorial

theru

like me im very new to texturing but i found a neat way to bake shadows into the texture without having to learn paint the whole thing and then in photoshop adjust it the way i want it, i asume u know about layers in photshop before trying this.

also, theres photoshop brushes for everything

http://www.deviantart.com/ search for photoshop brushes and u get almost everything there, eyes noose, pattern or whatever u want

1 way, there prolly a lot more ways but i found this very simple step

bake ambient occlusion in max.

1. Make sure your model is unwrapped in a way that overlapping faces wont look odd when the AO is baked into them. (Basically avoid overlapped faces wherever possible in the Unwrap UVW window).

2. When your model is unwrapped to your liking, press M to bring up the Material editor. If you already have a material applied to the model, perhaps with a texture, click on a new material "ball", and drag it onto your model. Under the "Basic Blinn Parameters" of the material, change the diffuse color to 100% white.

3. Go to create--->Lights----->Standard Lights---->and select skylight. Do not click on your scene to place the light yet. On the right hand side you will see the skylight parameters. You will want to ensure the color of the light is set to 100% white. By default it will have a subtle blue tone to it. You will also want to ensure "Cast Shadows" is checked, and you can even change the number of rays per sample for a higher quality shadow effect (this will lengthen your render time, I tend to use 40 rays per sample, instead of the default 20). Click anywhere in the scene to place the light. The skylight does not need to be placed anywhere special, it will do its job no matter its orientation.