Preparing to get Dawnguard - have some questions

enderes

I'm relatively new to Skyrim, in that I only started playing in July (on PC). I'm still in the (very long & complex) period of learning the game & trying out mods. I have 2 active characters, both of which are for "testing" the game, so I can figure things out like:

-what race I'll want to play when I finally make a primary character

-what factions I'll want to join (e.g. Stormcloaks vs Imperial Legion)

-what mods I like (and which can function with the game & with each other) that I will want to use long-term

-what basic gameplay elements I don't like & will want to find mods to fix

Really this game is more like a huge research project for me right now and not yet an actual GAME, and so soon after I started, I learn that the Dawnguard mini-expansion is released for the PC. So now that's added to the list of things I need to figure out before I make my real main character. I try searching online for answers to most of my questions but my google-fu is weak, and I usually get clearer answers when I just ask people who actually know.

Also, please NO SPOILERS for storyline or quest stuff or anything that I might like to be surprised by when I get to it in mid-game or late-game.

These are my questions:

When I download DG, what effect will it have on my saved games?

Although I've not gotten very far into the game yet, I don't want to have to start over from a clean save. I haven't even killed the first quest-dragon outside Whiterun & unlocked random dragon encounters yet. But I have put a lot of time in one of my tester-characters, and there are still some "big" mods (ones that add large amounts of content or overhaul basic aspects of the game) I haven't yet tested, and some mods I need to test out that affect content I haven't unlocked yet.

What effect, in general, will Dawnguard have of my already-installed mods?