Little confused about copying to Data folder

Forehandzebra

Hi, I'm new to Oblivion for PC and the mods for it. I read the installation instructions for the mods, and most of them tell me to unzip, and copy the files in the archive into the oblivion/data folder. On a couple different occasions, (don't remember off hand, but I'll look tomorrow, just don't feel like going and looking at all the files now), it prompts me if I want to overwrite this, or overwrite that. I don't, and I just stop what I'm doing because I don't want to mess my game up. Was wondering how it worked? I am also using the script extender and OBMM.

It's just that I download the mods, and none of them work. I did download Deadly Reflex I think it's called, and had it crash my game to desktop everytime I tried to load my game, but I did manage to get that fixed. But now all the mods I download, for example, I downloaded one called Gorangas Economy System, where you can get a job and all that at inns, and to test it, I went to an inn, and nothing comes up, and that also goes for the other mods I downloaded. I just don't notice any change whatsoever in the world.

I also downloaded the Elys speech one as well, and how am I supposed to know if that worked, by the way?

Hi, I'm new to Oblivion for PC and the mods for it. I read the installation instructions for the mods, and most of them tell me to unzip, and copy the files in the archive into the oblivion/data folder. On a couple different occasions, (don't remember off hand, but I'll look tomorrow, just don't feel like going and looking at all the files now), it prompts me if I want to overwrite this, or overwrite that. I don't, and I just stop what I'm doing because I don't want to mess my game up. Was wondering how it worked? I am also using the script extender and OBMM.