Steam and using mods

AzureWinter

I haven't bought it yet, but since Oblivion is cheap on steam I am considering it.

I'm mostly concerned with how difficult it is going to be to get mods working with steam. I remember hearing that the Oblivion Script Extender had issues in the past, is that still the case?

Do the mod managers play nice with steam? Nexus Mod Manager is the one to use right? Does it work fine with the steam version of Oblivion (also what if I were to install say.. Fallout 3 from a disc, any problems?).

Yeah, I am new to this, a bit nervous about screwing things up or things not working at all.

Absolutely zero problems using mods with Steam. I have the Steam version of Oblivion, and as you can see, I make Oblivion mods that work fine. :)

From the OBSE website:

OBSE does not work with:

The Direct2Drive version of Oblivion or Shivering Isles. The Oblivion.exe provided by D2D is encrypted, and we cannot patch it without breaking the encryption. We will not do this, as it is illegal.

The Impulse version of Oblivion or Shivering Isles. The Oblivion.exe provided by Impulse is also encrypted.

The GameSpot version of Oblivion or Shivering Isles. The Oblivion.exe provided by GameSpot is also encrypted.

Probably any digital distribution version other than Steam. This is just going on history with other services.

Oh, if you want the smaller DLCs like Fighter's Stronghold, Spell Tomes and Mehrune's Razor, make sure you get the GOTY Edition Deluxe and not the plain old GOTY Edition.. ;)