6÷2(3)

antonkr

Jeeze, not this silliness again.

Six divided by two multiplied by three.

Because the equation uses a "divided by" (÷) symbol and not a "/" which can be either "divided by" or a fraction, there is no ambiguity to what the equation is.

The three is already in its simplest form so the parenthesis is irrelevant to the equation. Think of it as (6)÷(2)(3).

The answer is 9. Six divided by two equals three. Three multiplied by three is nine.

Changing the equation to a fraction;

6÷2(3) thus 3/(3)=1 is incorrect.

If the answer were to be 1 it would need to be written 6÷[2(3)].

While I am also an engineer, I know this because I passed grade 6 math.

Teachers always play little tricks in math questions to see if students follow the rules. I recall a mod for Oblivion where to get past a door one had to solve the equation 20 multiplied by 20 divided by half. The mod forum was full of people desperately trying to get through the door and unable to figure out the answer. The reason, they used a calculator (OMG). The correct answer is ?? I'll leave that one up to someone else to answer because many, many got it wrong.

That's not my point. My point is that people can easily misinterpret this, even if I know this to be correct. If I'm writing something that someone else will eventually review, then I should be as explicit as possible to avoid any sort of confusion. Hence why this is even something controversial.

AliasTheory, on 14 Feb 2013 - 15:03, said:

That's not my point. My point is that people can easily misinterpret this, even if I know this to be correct. If I'm writing something that someone else will eventually review, then I should be as explicit as possible to avoid any sort of confusion. Hence why this is even something controversial.