A question for modders

NocturneNight

Hello everyone, first I'd like to say that I'm not fully sure if this post belongs in this forum as it doesn't really concern any specific mod(s), but rather is a question aimed at the modders in general. I hope I'm not in the wrong area, but if so, I kindly ask a moderator to move the topic to somewhere more appropriate. :)

Anyway I have been wondering about this for quite some time now. I recently got accepted and started at a Technology Institute here in Sweden where I'm studying to (eventually) become a videogame developer. And from what I've seen so far, making a videogame is tough work. That's why I'm wondering... how do you modders... dunno how to say this exacly but, "make a living"? I mean we have many talented modders here; many of whom are constantly working on new mods and I think that making a qualitative mod would take time, right? Is modding something you do in your spare time or do you get paid for it? Do you guys work in the industry? I mean if you have a fulltime job and mod in your spare time, that doesn't leave a lot of room to actually play any games, does it? :P

I'm wondering this because I'd like to become a modder too and make mods, but I have a hard time trying to fit everything into my schedule. And I would want to play the games I was modding for... I hope this isn't something too intrusive to ask, as I am, really just curios. :)

Thanks, NocturneNight

Hobby. It has to be since people aren't allowed to earn money from making mods. The only exceptions to this that I know of is Second Life (where it is approved by the company) and the Sims (where it's technically not allowed, but EA doesn't move a muscle to stop it).

Hobby.

I always wanted to create a game, but, by the time I had time for it, the game industry was already a million-dollar business.

I like programming and I've found Oblivion scripting the perfect environment for my hobby.