Fallout 4 as a form of therapy

mikeboydus

I have been on the Nexus for over 10 years. I have been playing Fallout since roughly 2001, when I was stationed at Fort Hood living in the barracks of 3-66AR. In 2013, while deployed, I began to have severe issues with PTSD from combat experiences I had in Iraq and Afghanistan. It got to the point in 2016 where I could no longer function as a member of the military or really society in general.

As I became more disconnected and isolated from the world, I withdrew more and more into gaming, especially modded Bethesda games like New Vegas and Skyrim. Nexus became like a second home, a place I would check every single day to see what had been released or updated. Mods allowed me to visit and experience things that I could not really do anymore, but also give some form of purpose or accomplishment.

In 2017, Fallout 4 Game of the Year edition was released and I purchased it on Steam. With mods I have been able to transform it into something that really had hit spots where I could immerse myself and stay occupied in a manner that I constructively enjoyed.