Why does it look so empty?

Saren475

RogueZepher-6248318_3440_1440.jpg

So I've been running into two issues.

Firstly, no matter what I do, I cannot seem to get a depth of field working. Neither the basegame DoF works nor any mod's DoF. I've fiddled with the ENB that I use and even went into the FalloutPrefs folder to enable it. I use PRC as my ENB and I'm running F4SE version 1.10.163. 

Secondly, it feels like my LOD isn't working properly, I don't feel like it should look that barren at that distance. Could it be my object quality at distance being off?

I have been modding for years, but I'm not too technically savvy with knowing what settings are optimal. 

My Specs;

Nvidia RTX 4070 TI, 64 GB Ram, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70 GHz, currently installed on my 2 TB disk drive(My SSD is nearly full), 3096 x 1444 144Hz Monitor at 21:9 Aspect Ratio.

TBH, that is an area where literally the only things you would see are on your screen.

Try the same thing from the top of say Greenetech Genetics - where you can literally see for miles.

Untitled.png?ex=66888483&is=66873303&hm=

image.png?ex=6688878c&is=6687360c&hm=fa4

So maybe this is how it's supposed to render at this distance, and it just should be masked by DoF. I don't really know if something is wrong, but I don't feel like I should be able to see these low texture ground this close to me as is.

Posted (edited)

I have no idea how DoF is affected by 3rd person view - where the camera is positioned well, well behind you.

Added:  I mean essentially most of your screen should be blurred by that camera position.

Edited by fraquar

All of this is the case in first and third person. I think it's two issues specifically, 

My render distance is shot I think, possibly by a mod, I have no idea. But I get 60fps generally, but when I move forward every 2-3 minutes or so my game hiccups and starts rendering things within my vicinity well within what should be the DoF zone.