Beam Weapons

dukelazrface

Dear Readers,

I don't know how many threads like this one currently exist. i admit i didn't check. but perhaps the topic has grown stale in other threads and someone needs a space to develop interest in their mod, or a place to list newly produced ideas.

personally i have little to no modding experience, likely do to my inability to do any coding, or utilize 3D modeling software. but my idea nonetheless is this.

A weapon, likely using the model for the laser rifle which fires a solid beam. not a pulsed laser like the vanilla laser weapons. as long as the fire button is held, it fires a beam.

if anybody who reads this thread can and is willing to make this mod, go ahead. if it works out great, maybe say you got the idea from my thread, your choice, I'm no credit hog.

possible things to consider

beam color (red is overdone)

realistically to do the same damage as a laser rifle, power consumption would make the rifle version use ECPs, the pistol use MF cells, and the heavy weapon (possibly a shoulder mounted SPARTAN laser-esque missile launcher remodel, with the gatling laser backpack) using five ECPs per ten seconds.

and ammo consumption- how much ammo does firing it for five or ten seconds use?

where does the player acquire the weapons.

how much hp does each weapon have

if you read this thread and can't make this mod, but have ideas relating to beam weapons--post them!

Edit: new idea

tesla pistol, tesla rifle.

In reply to evilneko,

i checked out the EVE you mentioned. and i gotta say he's got some great stuff, but i didn't see weapons like those i described above. i also found a file called charger weapons, which looked a little like my idea, but i think those still work like vanilla lasers, except for graphic differences and using the weapon's health as an ammo meter that recharges over time.