3DS max 2010 question

BBoyBreezy

OK hey all so i have a quiet simple question. First of all unfortunately I'm a complete noob at 3d modeling, but i seem to be getting the hang of it rather quickly, considering I'm using 3DS max 2010 and it's confusing as he11....anyways

My task at hand seems rather simple, yet I haven't the slightest clue on how to go about accomplishing it. I'm trying to take (I'll refer to them as "pieces") from one weapon, and add them ONTO another. Example: taking the stock off the Chinese assault rifle and replacing it with the stock off the plain assault rifle. In reality though, I'm actually trying to work with weapons that people have created already, and am basically trying to "Lego" assemble a seriously crazy looking gun together. I've tried to create a few prototypes but none have actually showed up in-game. Piecing together a weapon seems easy, i just don't know how to go about saving it in some sort of right format, while keeping the texture paths to all the pieces right. ANY HELP would more than likely propel my attempts way forward and would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. forgot to mention, I'm obviously working with Fallout 3, and i have the MaxTools .nif plug in thing for 3DS max (test ver. i guess) so i could open .nifs with it.

outside of regular mesh export, weapons nifs are have special requirements so the actually work correctly. namely naming conventions to nodes and mesh objects so animations will play, and a special extra data block that allows the game to link the weapon to the actor.

have a material with a texture in the diffuse slot applied to the mesh, collision set up, all nodes named appropriately etc.

export

open nif in nifskope.

change the scene root ninode into a BSFadeNode

add a nistringextradata node, name: "Prn" and String Data: "Weapon"

remove all shader flags from all mesh objects except sf_empty and sf_unknown_31, add any other shaders where appropriate