Modifying Textures

teklanika

I have a couple quick questions for the texture modders out there!

I'm a modding veteran when it comes to The Elder Scrolls; I've been making them since Morrowind and Oblivion. However, most of the work I've done revolves around the Construction Set, which we---sadly---don't have access to at the moment. So I've turned my attention to textures, as I'd like to make Skyrim a more beautiful place to immerse ones self in. Modeling was never my forte; too complex for the amount of time I'm willing to dump into my little projects. So that leaves purely texture work, which I know I can do if I just had a little extra knowledge on the subject.

So my questions are:

1. What is the best method for modifying existing textures to get higher detail and resolution?

2. How can I create an accurate normal map, like the default Bethesda maps? (I use Photoshop with the Nvidia .DDS tool, but whenever I attempt to create a normal map it's very fuzzy, in comparison to the Bethesda maps which are much more sharp. I know this has something to do with height templates but I can't seem to figure it out!)

Let me give an example of what I'm trying to do here. I have a steelsword.dds file right here on my desktop, ready to go. I open it with Photoshop, and I know how to change the colors of individual pieces, etc. However, I want this sword to look INCREDIBLY detailed in game---high resolution, and with a very detailed normal map. I've read just about every guide I could find on normal maps and texturing, but I can't seem to find a simple answer to my problem here. Is the model simply too low poly count for a large texture to make a difference? I really just don't know! :(

So... can anyone shed some light on how I can get a beautiful steel sword in Skyrim? :confused:

I apologize if this has been addressed in another thread, I couldn't find anything after looking around for quite some time.

1: Paint new texture\ new details into.