Hi Newbie here with question

mrhodes93

Hello, I heard about this site and figured I'd join to find a community and educate myself! So I really haven't done mods since my wiiU days when all you had to do was put in a mini-USB that someone already had a folder ready to go all you had to do was drag and drop. I'm fairly new to modding in general with Steam games on PC. I mainly wanted to introduce myself and ask a two-part question. First, where is a good place I can learn? I know a lot will say Google or YouTube, but are there any specific channels or forums I should look into? Secondly, I'm mainly looking here for mods for Starfield and I can understand console commands but when the instructions for something like this for example I get confused a bit and need clarification if anyone could help me out I'd greatly appreciate it. I feel like I'm overthinking it but that's why I wanted to ask. to me, I only have to create a folder named the starfieldcustom.ini. but what's ini.? I'm used to just writing something in note pad can I just write what is written below in a notepad document look for a converter and put it in the game folder? or am I an Idiot? I feel like I have a general grasp but need some guidance. I am just using this as an example mainly as an extent of my knowledge.

Example : https://www.nexusmods.com/starfield/mods/4115
REQUIREMENTS:
- The mod only requires a 'StarfieldCustom.ini' file in 'Documents\My Games\Starfield' folder
(if you don't have a StarfieldCustom.ini file, create one) and add the following lines:

[Archive]
bInvalidateOlderFiles=1
sResourceDataDirsFinal=

First, where is a good place I can learn? I know a lot will say Google or YouTube, but are there any specific channels or forums I should look into?

I too wish to learn and connect with other modders. :)

First, where is a good place I can learn? I know a lot will say Google or YouTube, but are there any specific channels or forums I should look into?