can't get .esp's to run. ideas?

thurisazshole

its the oddest thing. I got the glowing ore mod to work just fine, when i added them to the textures folder, and i can use batch files just fine. - however, adding .esp files to my (x86)\skyrim\data\ folder does not activate them at all.

i'm the only user on my win7 ultimate box, and yes, its administrator.

is there some sort of command in the console i need to run, that i may be missing?

Nope, its not pirated - not a great idea for you to assume such things by default.. i paraphrased the location. i'm a tech by trade - we do that. and i chose the location myself during the installation ... in the future, you may not want to assume that everyone is a pirate. but for you, since you did, here's the install location. C:\Program Files (x86)\Skyrim\

need any more data? probably, here's a bit, as its still not working.

furthermore, one thing i've not been clear on is this: the only phrasing people have ever said is to "activate it in the launcher or mod manager" - you mean data files button? it's greyed out and won't activate, as if the .esp files dont' exist.

makes me wonder if installing to the custom location broke the install.

Anyway, you must be on a 64 bit system if you have Program Files (x86).

Go to your Documents\My Games\Skyrim folder and find SkyrimPrefs.ini.

Open it and under the [Launcher] section add the line:

bEnableFileSelection=1

then save and close it, this will enable you to activate data files from the skyrim launcher.

Thanks for the response, HadToRegister. Good catch on the 64-bit Install location, not everyone seems to know the automagic adjustment for the 32>64bit OS changes. But, I digress.

However, that was already in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file. I toggled it to =0 launched, then back to =1, just to make sure, and it stayed the same. (Still fail)

Next test: