[Survey] Your habits about modding - 5 minutes maximum

Sca4ar

Hello,
I am doing a thesis about modding and competitive advantage in the video game industry. Among other things for this research, I am interested in the habits of video game players about modding, which is why I am here.
I would really appreciate if you could take the time to take this survey. It won't take you more than 5 minutes.
Please note that all the data collected with this survey will strictly be for my research. I will only share the results with you once I have analyzed the data.
If you have questions, I would be glad to answer them.
Thank you so much for your help.

Oh, participant observation, this is so exciting. The scientist and his primitive ojects of research. :dance:

I'm not sure about the relation of modding and competitive advantages, though, as you don't differentiate between single player games and online games. You can only use those mods required by a respective server, but this means that all the players on this particular server have to use the same mods. As such, this abrogates any possible advantage. Doing otherwise would imply the use of hacks in order to get an advantage over the other players. This is the only sort of competition I can imagine right now. If you don't want to deduce a logical relationship between modding and competition, though, it's alright, then I've simply misunderstood you there.

I'm not sure how flexible your survey is. If you have to stick to this one, then do it. If you're free to change it or add some additional questions, I would like to suggest a few ideas not covered by your survey yet. Even Malinowski spent some time among the primitives before he tricked them into telling him all their secrets, so try to do the same before running off with our sacred knowledge.