Games That Depict Conflict Scenarios Best

Jeux

Hey guys,

I'm a college student taking my 3000 level English course. The theme of the course is focused on conflict zones around the world, so every student had to choose one specific event of conflict. (Wars, raids, rebellions, massacres, etc)

I first chose the issue with Somalia with the Somali pirates. I then switched to researching the 2012 Tuareg Rebellion concerning Mali, the Tuareg, and the MNLA.

After a few of the preparation essays we have to type halfway through the course, I talked to my professor and told her about how there is a lack of sources and information on my topic (nevermind the fact that it was a tad bit boring), and the fact that I was swamped with other things in my life. She stopped me and asked what was taking up all my time. I told her being a full time student while working two jobs, juggling a social life, AND modding a large scale fallout new vegas mod was doing just that. She asked me about modding, and game development in general. It turns out her house mate is a graduate student writing her thesis on game development and player interactions.

She then propose that I drop the Tuareg Rebellion topic and instead center my research around the following:

1) How we can escape into the virtual world to simulate conflict scenarios that resemble conflicts in our world. How we can escape into another persona to experience things differently and act in a way we would not usually act...take risks we wouldn't usually take (a hunter in a jungle, a lone soldier in a dominated battlefield, an investigator questioning civilians)

2) (minor) A brief discussion on the difficulties in the development process of video games, especially indie game development and "large-scale modding"

3) (minor) A brief description of the conflict situation I have in the narrative on my mod (tying in wit the second point)