⚠ Known Issue: Media on User Profiles ×

Please, would you experienced folks please help this old guy?

derrinred

I'm new to PC modding. I'm playing Skyrim SE and I downloaded a bunch of mods including directly from Bethesda. My mods are all from Nexus. I tried using Vortex as my mod manager, but someone told me to use Mod Organizer 2 because it's simpler. So I switched. I made sure to download all required files for each mod. But I have no clue what order they need to be in, how to resolve conflicts or any of the other complex issues that I'm being faced with. I tried going through the tutorials, but they make a lot of assumptions like a person has a good working knowledge of the mod world. But I'm an old guy who's never used mods before. Bethesda's mods all work perfectly. All I have to do is load them. No glitches, but also very boring as far as the look and much less personal. I want to try more risque mods.

Please, would someone be willing to hold my hand and guide and treat me like a fifth grader?

My email address is [email protected]

<snippity>

Vortex and MO2 do more or less the same thing but in slightly different ways. For the novice user, I would have recommended Vortex as it tries to stop you from doing silly things and is a bit more hand-holdy than MO2.

Many people have a preference for one over the other and some can get rather heated in their defence or criticism of one or the other.

In the end they're just tools and both are perfectly competent mod managers.

In terms of modding your game, I recommend starting with STEP which is a curated list of mods containing all the 'essential' bug & engine fixes and QoL enhancers with step-by-step instructions on how to install them whilst still remaining as true to vanilla Skyrim as possible. And an active community if you need help.

Best of luck...

Edited by gnarly1