A life of gaming

mrsathletic

I started playing games at the age of 10 with a Commodore 64. Now, more than 30 years later, I still play a lot. After a time of various relationships I ended up never being married and not having kids. I find myself still playing a lot. I think 95 percent of the people I have around rarely play games. This makes me feel very different, especially for being a woman. Playing games makes me feel so much younger. I have a great problem accepting my age.

In general, I spent a whole lot of my lifetime playing games. It is like being in a better alternative reality. It makes me feel good.

Anyone else?

Edited by mrsathletic

I turned 50 this year, I'm fine with it I guess, it is what it is. Despite our society's obsession with youth, everyone gets old. My family had a TI-99/4A before the C64, but the Commodore was my first computer love. Endless games, programming in basic and later assembly, experiments with the electronics and soldering, with the sound (that SID chip is still awesome), it offered so many possibilities and learning opportunities and sparked off a life in technology. My original c64 died long ago, I bought a refurbished one recently. Out of nostalgia I suppose, but it was very satisfying to finish some games I never did as a child or wanted to have but never found back in the day (we were at the mercy of what friends and the local stores had). The new-old C64 also has an SD-card loader, games load in seconds and not minutes (you can't see it but my inner 8-year old is still jumping up and down about it).