What poses a greater threat to the gaming industry?

lengelb

Does DRM Work?  

77 members have voted

1. 1. What is a greater threat to the gaming industry?

2. 2. Does DRM drive away customers?

I'm in my last year of high school and a large part of one of our portfolios is a pretty big research project. My topic revolves around whether or not DRM works and if it does, in fact, drive customers to piracy. So, if you could answer, it would be much appreciated, since it would help me pass and all. Thanks :D Edited by CE19

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Piracy is the police`s job to control, but if i called know to report someone for piracy i promise you the operator would just hang up on the spot. DRM is just the corporations half ass attempt at stopping piracy since the law wont do anything. All those people who are whining about DRM are just people who think they deserve better than being treated like a pirate. Though i realy cant see how DRM is a threat to anything( exept sales of course).

All those people who are whining about DRM are just people who think they deserve better than being treated like a pirate.

I think you're forgetting those people who feel jaded because of draconian DRM policy that essentially removes their right to play the game they legally purchased. Such as Ubisoft which demands a constant online connection to play a singleplayer game, or EA who can (and has) banned people from being able to play/install ALL games on their service for altering game files, making posts on the forums, and other minor things. In these cases the DRM doesn't do a damn thing about piracy and only serves to limit the rights of the customer.