Question regarding AI

TheRealxPyro

I've been wondering what exactly the rules are on the use of AI generated voices for mods, I know there are a few which use the voice already in the source game as samples, but is it allowed to use the voice of famous people or characters from other games? Perhaps even VAs from existing mods? Though I imagine that last one falls under using others assets, but again it begs the question is content generated using their voice still theirs?

I'm simply curious what the limits are on this, not necessarily from a moral stance, but more of a "If I do this will I be struck down by the almighty banhammer?" stance.

I'm also aware that technically ElevenAI and other sites have their own rules about this which most people seem to ignore.

Sorry if this is already explained somewhere or I'm asking in the wrong place, but I felt this was technically a question about the rules of nexusmods.

I'm not a lawyer but didn't Disney need permission from James Earl Jones and Mark Hamill for the rights to recreate their voices with AI? it suggests they think you can't just recreate someone else's voice without permission.

Can't speak to Nexus policy, but legally there is definitely precedent that protects people from having their voice associated with a product or work of art without their consent. Tom Waits won more than one lawsuit in the US and Europe against companies using impersonators for ads that sounded as if Waits had done them. Back then, those were landmark cases because the companies hadn't actually used his music recordings for it, simply something that sounded close enough to his voice and stylings that could convince people it was him. They had to pay up serious cash over that too.