New update - can't find SkyrimSE.exe

FeycatG
Go to solution Solved by showler,

Vortex just updated and now when I try and run the game it says it can't find SkyrimSE.exe Literally nothing except the update has changed, I've been playing this loadout for the past 6 months or so. I was playing it last night at 1am for that matter, and now it says SkyrimSE is missing? I don't want to screw this up and lose my current playthrough. How do I fix this?

Vortex uses a registry key to find the Skyrim executable, and that key is populated by the launcher. Maybe that's un-set or got changed out/corrupted/busted/moved?

To test that:

Close vortex
Run the Skyrim SE/AE launcher (default function in Steam, or GOG; it's the thing that offers to check your video settings, has "Play" "options" "Support", etc).
Once the launcher has launched, but *before* you hit "Play", exit the launcher.
Try Vortex again

Good luck!

Steam will launch the game instantly under a few instances-

1. The skyrim_launcher.exe has been replaced by the game executable (or skse's executable).
    This would be a manual thing, like a drag/drop. Steam, Vortex, nor SKSE do this in an automated fashion.
  2. the game is started with an unusual Launch option (one that I'm not familiar with) to skip the game.
  3. the game is launched via a short-cut outside of steam.

In the case of 1, you can fix this by verifying the game local files (don't forget to re-do the xedit clean of the plugins). In the case of 2, remove the launch option from the general tab of the game itself. In the case of 3, launch the game from within steam's window, under library.

other than that, your guess is as good as mine?